1. As a final farewell gift to our beloved creator, we're planning to make a "thank you" video. If you'd like to be involved, you can read more here.
  2. Our One Piece User Tournament is back. Join the fun now!
  3. We have a new Facebook page! You can like it by clicking HERE!

Your PC

Discussion in 'Information Technology (IT)' started by R1pp3r D. Pervert, Mar 14, 2014.

  1. R1pp3r D. Pervert

    Unofficial forum mod
    Supernova
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6,805
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Trophy Points:
    13,665
    Gender:
    Male
    Hai well I've opened this thread to see what kind of hardware you guys are using.

    If this thread 'll become used i'll you people even more because my friend 'll take notes for his Dr. degree in computer science.

    I'll go 1st...

    I have 2 PC's... One in kitchen

    Processor: Intel core2 quad CPU Q8300 2.5 Ghz
    Memory (RAM): DDR2 4GB
    Gcard: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT
    hard drives: basic 0.5 TB from 6 years ago nothing special
    Nothing else worth mentioning

    2nd PC i got in my room...my own PC. I've kept this a secret from most of my friends and i haven't told family how much i've paid for.
    I've build it up 2 months ago

    Casing: Big Tower In Win Dragon Rider
    Processor: Procesor Intel Core i7 3970X 3,5 GHz
    Memory (RAM): DDR3 16GB
    Gcard: 2x Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti, 3 GB
    Hard drive: Western Digital RE 4TB, 7200rpm, 64MB, SATA 3
    SSD drive: 2,5" SSD Intel 530, 480 GB, SATA III
    Cooler for processor: Zalman CNPS12X High Performance (I wanted extra silent computer :P)

    Still have some work with my friend who'll put tubes in my pc for cooling, already bought liquid for it :P

    As for a price...God save me, if anyone 'll ask i'll say otherwise i'll keep it to myself for now <<<<<<<almost 3900€>>>>>>>


    OK others... START !!
     
  2. Egameca

    What´s This ?
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2,100
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    6,120
    Gender:
    Male
    Got 3
    Only use 2, both are laptops

    First 1 bought mainly for school (The other one weights 5kilo and is big and clumsy, was the one i used for school before)
    I got games and anime on this one aswell (I almost only use this one in bed or at school so never really get to play on it, even if its faster and better than the other one, but that screen is 3" bigger so i rather use that for gaming)
    4gb ram
    500GB
    Intel(R)_Core(TM)_i5-3317U_CPU_@_1.70GHz (Can go to 2,4ghz)
    NVIDIA GeForce 610m, Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000
    Think 13,7" screen

    Second 1: Got it for school long ago from my mom through her work. Now as i said i use it when i play games and usually only use that one doing the day
    It got 4gb ram
    200GB
    16,7" screen (from what i remember)
    something duel-core something 1,8ghz (will check when i use it next after i have slept)
    Some crappy nvidia graphic card (will check when i use it next after i have slept)

    The third one i don't use, I even think it crashes most times when its turned on, and don't have a pc screen to set it up with anyway
    4gb ram and 200gb harddisk is all i remember, the graphic card and such is a bit worse than my second laptop, so need reason to use it anyway

    I am thinking much about buying a new desktop computer so I can play some more games and not play the games i already play on low-medium settings. But I am bad at using money, and even more bad when I have to buy something new where the old thing I got is still working (Even if outdated as ****)
     
  3. Captain OP

    Well-Known Member
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3,010
    Gender:
    Male
    Got an Asus N53J series laptop, i think i bought it in 2011 (around € 1000,-)

    Specs:
    RAM: 4GB DDR3
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT425M
    Processor: Intel Core i7 740QM @ 1,7 Ghz
    Memory: 500 GB HDD
    Screen: 15,6'' Full HD

    Runs smoothly after +/- 3 years, i don't actually play games on this bad boy anymore. I use it mostly for study/youtube/anime/movies, it was worth it's money, that's for sure!
     
  4. DevonHawk

    Blue Marksman
    Captain
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    7,520
    Gender:
    Male
    asus X52F

    Config:
    Ram: 4 GB DDR2
    Mem: 360 GB
    Graphic card: Intel HD Graphics
    Processor: Intel Pentium CPU P6200 @ 2.1.3 GHz
    Screen: 15" Full HD

    truth is... I'm actually Shocked my dad bought me one to begin with :P
    so i'm pretty satisfied with what i have xD
    Waitin till next year when i'll finally start earning...
    so i can get my own stuff ;)

    till then... -sigh :frown:
     
  5. Johnny

    Well-Known Member
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3,870
    Gender:
    Male
    Toshiba Satelite

    Conf.
    Proc: Intel Core i3
    RAM:DDR3 6GB
    Graphics: Radeon HD 7670
    HDD: 750GB

    I'm super satisfied with this laptop, performance is so smooth. Worth every coin I gave for it.
     
  6. maisafie

    See you later, space coboy ...
    First Mate
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    5,050
    Gender:
    Male
    Well,
    desktop1 :
    Intel xeon 3.4 Ghz
    32 gb ram
    GeForce GTX 650Ti
    2* 120Gb sdd
    2 * 3T HDD
    (mainboard huge problems have to change it so perhaps in the near future going to 64 gb ram)


    Laptop : Sony Vaio
    I7 1800 Ghz
    8gb ram
    GeForce GT 740M
    1gb hdd
     
  7. Owl

    Owl
    Well-Known Member
    Shichibukai Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    9,987
    Likes Received:
    3,993
    Trophy Points:
    18,415
    You guys have some pretty nice computers! I'm going to buy an iMac in June, it's going to be my first Apple product. It's going to be for work, though.

    Why so much RAM?
     
  8. maisafie

    See you later, space coboy ...
    First Mate
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    5,050
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm working with virtual machines (3-4 at one time when is really needed and each one is basically a server doing some image composing (maps and some 3d rendering from data). Right now with 32 ram and 32 swap (when i'm linux) I do feel the need for more :D. I also feel the need for a better proc but this one isn't so bad since i can go with it till 3.8ghz when in need without too much trouble :D
     
  9. Owl

    Owl
    Well-Known Member
    Shichibukai Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    9,987
    Likes Received:
    3,993
    Trophy Points:
    18,415
    I was about to say that 32GB was overkill, but now I can see why you need all that RAM. :P
     
  10. R1pp3r D. Pervert

    Unofficial forum mod
    Supernova
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6,805
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Trophy Points:
    13,665
    Gender:
    Male
    No worries owl... for commoners 16Gb RAM 'll do for next 10 years for sure. NOTHING won't progress so fast and strong that more then 16gb 'll be needed. So rest assured :)
     
  11. Wolf

    Harbringer of Reality
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    598
    Trophy Points:
    5,820
    Gender:
    Male
    [​IMG]

    I think, I found the definition of Hard-core Gamer o_O

     
  12. bloodseeker

    Well-Known Member
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    2,370
    Gender:
    Male
    well mine is laptop
    spec:
    intel 3rg gen i3 upto 2.6ghz
    8gb ram ddr3
    2gb amd radeon 7670 and 500mb intel graphic 4000
    windows8
     
  13. maisafie

    See you later, space coboy ...
    First Mate
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    5,050
    Gender:
    Male
    I do think that 8 gb is too much for daily activities. Anything beyond that is meant to professionals. I just don't imagine what can i do beside my work to need more than 8 gb.
     
  14. LAWless

    Well-Known Member
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    5,490
    Gender:
    Male
    Sharing the only config worth mentioning

    on may 15 it will be 6 yrs for it.

    Now i don't play any game on it other that [Plants and zomies, AOM/AOE,cs] considering it's OLD age and incapability to run heavy games XD

    But there was a time I played 'DMC 4','COD modern warfare','POP two thrones' on it with possible minimum settings..
    .
    .Just waiting for it to Die .,.:kizaru:
     
  15. KonradZuse

    Well-Known Member
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3,870
    I have an older Dell Laptop that I got as a replacement for my other failed laptop...

    Dell blows...


    As for too much ram, I write software, do video/image editing with adobe, browse the internet, skype, etc all with 4 gigs and for the most part I can do it all.

    Idk how people could use 32 gigs and "need more" what kind of rendering are you doing lol...?


    I did however try to buy new parts awhile ago, got this gigabyte mb that had broken pins and newegg wouldn't take it back.(still need to contact gigabyte) so I have 400$ in parts from 2 years ago just hanging around...

    ddr3 1600 mhz 8 gigs IO think, decent processor, etc.

    I'll prob end up upgrading again, but this time I'm going to ask and see what others recommend so I make sure 100% I'm getting parts that work together :p.
     
  16. R1pp3r D. Pervert

    Unofficial forum mod
    Supernova
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6,805
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Trophy Points:
    13,665
    Gender:
    Male
    PC in kitchen or well my gf's PC is being replaced with one i just ordered.

    Note that i bought only 1 power supply and not 2 as seen in pic which i took prior to the order


    [​IMG]

    was thinking of going with a bit better processor - Intel I5 4670k; but i'm fine
     
  17. Albert Newton

    Well-Known Member
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2,460
    Gender:
    Male
    well.... mine is Lenovo Essentials G400s

    Lenovo Essential G400s (59-383645) Laptop (3rd Gen Ci5/ 4GB/ 500GB/ Win8/ 2GB Graph/ Touch)
     
  18. Egameca

    What´s This ?
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2,100
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    6,120
    Gender:
    Male
    Got my new pc :D:D

    CPU
    Intel i5-4690, 4 x 3.50 Ghz*

    CPU Cooler
    BLOODFREEZR 50FH/Asetek watercooling

    Grafikkort (+PSU)
    MSI GTX 770 TF 2GD5 Gaming (FSP 600W 88+ Silver)

    RAM
    G.Skill Ripjaws 2133 MHz 2x4GB

    Systemdisk 1
    Samsung 840 EVO Series 120GB*

    Lagerdisk 1
    Seagate Barracuda 1 TB, 7200rpm

    DVD/Blue-Ray
    ASUS DVD-burner/player

    Motherboard
    MSI Z87-G43 GAMING
     
  19. Soma

    Well-Known Member
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,198
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    7,270
    Gender:
    Male
    i got a new PC

    Intel Core i5 4460 4x 3.20GHz
    Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3 Intel H97 So.1150 Dual Channel DDR3 ATX
    8GB (2x 4096MB) Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 DIMM
    600 Watt be quiet! Pure Power
    1000GB WD Green 3.5" (8.9cm) SATA 6Gb/s
    Scythe Katana 4 Tower Kühler
    LG Electronics GH24NSB0 DVD-RW SATA intern schwarz Bulk
    2048MB Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Dual-X Aktiv PCIe 3.0 x16

    runs quite good.
     
  20. Johnny

    Well-Known Member
    Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3,870
    Gender:
    Male
    I recently re-installed Windows 7 and just realised that is 32-bit and i need 64-bit. I'm so furious now, it runs 2x times slower than it should be. :mad:
     

Share This Page